How to find a conviction record

 

If your conviction(s) occurred after June 12, 2014.

If your conviction(s) occurred between January 1, 2000 and June 12, 2014.

If your conviction(s) occurred before January 1, 2000.

If your conviction(s) occurred after June 12, 2014.

The State of CT Judicial Branch Public Database only shows records going back 10 years. If your conviction occurred after June 12, 2014, please follow the below steps to find the statute number and date for a conviction.

To learn if a conviction will be automatically erased when CT’s Clean Slate law goes into effect you need the statute number and date of the conviction.

Below are steps to find the statute number and date for a conviction. Read all the steps before starting. Remember that the State site does not say whether a conviction is eligible. You have to come back here to find out.

  1. Know the first and last name, and birth year for person on the conviction.
  2. Watch the video on this page to learn how to search for the statute number and date of conviction (skip this step if you already know how to find a statute number on the conviction record).
  3. Search for the conviction on the Connectcut Judicial Branch conviction search page.
  4. Save the conviction statute and date of conviction.

Video about how to find a conviction record statute and date.

If your conviction(s) occurred between January 1, 2000 and June 12, 2014.

The State Police Criminal Records Unit keeps the official record of criminal convictions and requires all requests for copies of Criminal History Records to be made using the State of Connecticut Criminal History Record Request Form (DPS-0846-C).

You must mail the completed records request form, with the $75 fee, to:

Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
State Police Bureau of Identification
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 658-8480

Please Note: General Statutes § 29-11(c)(iii) requires the State Police Criminal Records Unit to charge $75 for Criminal History Record requests.

*This information was gathered from page 2 of the State of Connecticut’s petition form for Clean Slate erasure for convictions prior to 2000.

After you have your conviction(s), come back to the CleanSlateCt website and go to the conviction statute eligibility page.

If your conviction(s) occurred before January 1, 2000

Because the state does not keep digitized records of convictions pre-2000, you must complete and submit this form in order to have any eligible pre-2000 conviction(s) erased under CT’s Clean Slate law. To look up your conviction(s) and/or obtain a copy of your record, follow the same process outlined above for conviction(s) over 10 years old.

After you have your conviction(s), fill the  Petition for Clean Slate Erasure, Convictions Before 1/1/2000.